Saturday, 27 August 2011

Bars and baseball

I've been here nearly two weeks now and I have to say I love it even more than I thought I would. I'm finding the most insignificant 'American' things ridiculously exciting, popping to the 7-Eleven, getting a paper from those vending boxes on the street, fire hydrants, wine being ridiculously expensive, ok so maybe not the last one but the others are still fun.

I've still not done much exploring by day what with work and everything, though am going to try and remedy that this long weekend (hurricaine Irene permitting). I have seen a few more bars though - priorities and all that.

On Thursday night it was a colleague's birthday and we went here http://www.libertyhotel.com/, which used to be a prison, for drinks. The fact that the cheapest bottle of wine was around £30 made my eyes water a bit, but it's a really lovely place with a great terrace, lots of swanky people and I got to pretend to be a fancy lady for a while. Not being able to sustain this for too long however I had to move on to a dive bar whose name I don't recall but whose drinks were much more reasonably priced.

Went to watch the baseball last night at http://www.thebaseballtavern.com/ which is 2 minutes walk from my apartment. You can see over to Fenway park from the roof, and apparently it's one of very few places you can just sit outside with a drink (as opposed to eating) over here. I had the basics of baseball explained to me, apparently 'it's basically rounders' doesn't quite cover it, who knew? I don't really think you can live where I am and not get caught up in it, so I'm going to try really hard to get to grips with it and will report back.



No comments:

Post a Comment